Canoe/Kayak Slalom at 2015 Pan American Games

Minden Wild Water Preserve

WO Access and Preservation

30th Annual Gull River Open Canoe Slalom Race

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 3
  4. 4

Facebook Image

Latest Bubblestreet cartoon

The latest Bubblestreet comic strip

Commercial Members

Contact us today about becoming a commercial member.

2015 AGM Board Elections

2015 Whitewater Ontario Board Election


The WO Board has endorsed the proposed changes to our governance model and its use in the 2015 election pending acceptance of the changes at the upcoming AGM on November 14th.

The rationale for the changes is available at


The Nomination Process


You may self-nominate for any position or nominate another individual for any position on the Board but they will need to accept the nomination prior to being placed on the ballot. We recommend contacting individuals before nominating them to gauge their willingness and interest.


To nominate yourself or someone whom you think would be a successful Board member, please click on the following link:

Nominations will be accepted electronically until the identified "Nominations Closed" item is reached on the agenda at the AGM. This will be done in advance of sending the voting link to registered members to ensure all candidates are included on the ballot.


The WO Board:

Executive Committee


Directs operations, sets objectives, plans meetings and agendas, liaises with Directors, acts as WO spokesperson as needed

Vice President 

Supports activities of the Executive, supports President, Directors and Committee activities, may lead ad-hoc committees as needed


Works with secretary on WO administration and financial operations, approves committee budgets, maintains records and reports summaries at the AGM

Director Representative 

(appointed by Board

​ from elected Directors)

Secretary (ex officio)

Takes meeting minutes, keeps records, responds to emails, manages membership database, coordinates activities and supports Executive and Committees)


Directors noted by (*) are responsible for recruitment, management, and leadership of their respective committees.

*Director of the Minden Wild Water Preserve (MWWP)

Leads MWWP management and operations

*Director of Advocacy
Coordinates advocacy efforts, liaises with local river advocates and leads communications with landowners, advocacy groups, and others.

*Director of Communications
Manages and monitors website, Facebook group and member communications through emails or newsletters.

*Director of Competition
Coordinates competitive events including slalom races.

*Director of Recreation
Represent and promote recreational paddling clubs and events.

*Director of Instruction

Manages and coordinates CKC Instruction program in Ontario. 


Director-at-Large (2)

The Directors-at-Large positions provide an opportunity for different voices on the board not necessarily aligned with any other existing WO Committees. They will work on new projects, ad hoc working groups, or on any other matters that arise over the course of the year as identified by the Board.

Non-Voting Members-at-Large (4)

Members at-Large support the activities of the Board and participate in ad hoc committees and WO working groups.



2015 AGM Meeting & Vote Registration

Dear Whitewater Ontario Members:

On Saturday, November 14th our Annual General Meeting will take place in Ottawa at Glashan Public School which is located at 28 Arlington Avenue in Centretown. Our meeting will begin at 10:30a.m. but registered participants are asked to arrive by 10:15 so we can verify attendance, complete the registration process, and prepare for the election.

As previously communicated, we are adding an exciting and innovative component to our meeting with online access being available through GoToMeeting to those members who have registered using this link:

All WO members attending the AGM must register for the meeting whether you plan to attend in Ottawa or online. Only those who have registered will be permitted to vote as the ballot will be sent out electronically for the Board election.

Hard copies of the ballots will be available to those in attendance in Ottawa or you may use your own device to access email and vote online. Those in Ottawa will not be using the GoToMeeting service for the actual meeting.

By using the GoToMeeting service WO members will be able to hear the audio portion of the AGM and be able to use the chat feature to communicate with the meeting's Technical Advisor in order to ask questions or make inquiries. As well the screen viewing function will allow online registrants to see the live copies of reports and documents.

Only those registered AGM attendees will receive the link to the election ballot. Members will be able to mark their ballots electronically and submit the form. The Technical Advisor will synthesize the submissions after the link is closed and present the election results as soon as possible.

Since this is the first time we have attempted this format we are aware there may be some issues along the way. However, we are planning to make our AGM an event that helps to move our organization forward in a new and exciting way.

We look forward to your participation. Please forward any questions to Donna at  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . Remember to register - and don't forget to consider running for the Board or nominating someone.

See you on the 14th.

Jim Tayler


2015-16 Draft List of Q4G Athlete Nominations

Announcement of Draft List of Ontario Card Nominations and Appeal Procedures

2015-2016 Quest for Gold – Ontario Athlete Assistance Program

November 2, 2015

WHITEWATER ONTARIO is pleased to announce a draft list of athletes and alternates who have

been nominated for Ontario Cards under the 2015-2016 Quest for Gold - Ontario Athlete Assistance Program (OAAP). The athletes nominated were selected using the sport specific selection criteria developed by WHITEWATER ONTARIO’S Quest for Gold Selection Committee, approved by its Board of Directors and applied by (the) Selection Committee.

Full Cards

Thea Froelich – K1W

Liam Smedley – C1M

*Alternate(s) Alexandra McGee – C1W and Lois Betteridge – C1W

Half Cards

Lois Betteridge – C1W

Ben Risk – C1M

Natasha O’Connell – K1W

Andrew Musgrave – K1M

*Alternate(s) Sheamus O’Connell – K1M

Please note that this list is unofficial and is subject to change pending the outcome of any

appeals and/or any re-selection decisions made by the PSO/MSO Selection Committee or the

Quest for Gold Appeals Committee. As a consequence, this list should not be seen as final.

Athletes who have not been nominated and who wish to appeal this decision can do so by following the process set out in the Selection Criteria document:

For questions regarding this announcement please contact the Whitewater Ontario Quest for Gold Selection Committee:

Celeste Corkery, Whitewater Ontario Slalom Committee member

Kathleen Tayler, Whitewater Ontario Slalom Committee member

James Cartwright, High Performance Canoe Slalom Manager, Canoe Kayak Canada

Page 1 of 110

November 2015
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 1 2 3 4 5

Upcoming events

No events
Free business joomla templates

Distributed by SiteGround